Richard S. and Mary S. Engelbrecht Fellowship



Richard S. and Mary S. Engelbrecht Fellowship

This fellowship recognizes a Ph.D. student within the Environmental Engineering and Science Program, who is approaching graduation, for demonstrating outstanding scholastic achievement including research, teaching and service, and promise of success in environmental engineering and science.


Fellowship award winners and their current affiliations:

1998    Daniel Oerther, Missouri University of Science and Technology

1999    Ann Dillner, University of California, Davis

2001    Qilin Li, Rice University

2002    Jae-Hong Kim, Yale University

2003    Chad Knutson, Wolfram Research Inc.

2005    Lance Schideman, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

2006    Zaher Hashisho, University of Edmonton, Alberta

2008    Christoph Roden, SPEC Inc.

2009    Manish Kumar, Pennsylvania State University

2010    Tze Ling Ng, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

2011    Lanhua Hu, Nalco Inc.

2012    John Atkinson, University of Edmonton, Alberta

2013    Evan Coopersmith, USDA-ARS Hydrology and Remote Sensing Laboratory

2014    Kaitlin Mallouk, Rowan University

2014    Nanxi Lv, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign


About Professor Engelbrecht

Professor Richard S. Engelbrecht was a pioneer in the field of environmental pollution control, particularly the development of solutions to microbiological problems associated with water quality management, including drinking water and wastewater treatment. He was an “institution” nationally and internationally. In the National Research Council he was known as “Mr. Water.” Dick joined the Department of Civil Engineering at the University of Illinois in Urbana-Champaign during 1954 as an assistant professor. He held the rank of professor of environmental engineering from 1959 until he retired in 1992, when he became professor emeritus. From 1987 to 1989 he held the first Ivan Racheff Professorship of Environmental Engineering, and from 1979 to 1991 he was director of UIUC’s Advanced Environmental Control Technology Research Center. Select awards received by Dick were the Harrison Prescott Eddy Medal for noteworthy research (1966) and the Arthur Sidney Bedell Award (1973), both from the Water Pollution Control Federation; the George W. Fuller Award (1974) and the Publication Award (1975), both from the American Water Works Association; and the Eric H. Vick Award (1979) from the Institution of Public Health Engineers (UK). The Benjamin Garver Lamme Award of the American Society of Engineering Education was bestowed upon him in 1985. He was awarded the Gordon Maskew Fair Medal by the Water Environment Federation in 1987. Because of his long involvement with many environmental projects and his help to Japanese graduate students at University of Illinois, he received national decoration from the Emperor of Japan in 1993, namely the Order of the Sacred Treasure, Gold Rays with Neck Ribbon. The Association of Environmental Engineering Professors honored him in 1993 with its Founders' Award for sustained and outstanding contributions to environmental engineering education. He was the author or coauthor of more than 122 articles, proceedings, papers, and chapters in books.

Dick was a genuine family man seeing to it that all members of his family, including especially his daughters-in-law and his grandchildren, received special attention at all times. He is survived by his two sons, William of Louisville, Kentucky, and Timothy of St. Louis, Missouri; his two daughter-in-laws Mickey and Becky; and five grandchildren.


Richard S. and Mary S. Engelbrecht Environmental Engineering Fund Contributors

Gift Range: +$10,000

Richard S. and Mary S. Engelbrecht

Gift Range: $5,000 - $9,999  

Dr. Blaine Severin

Proctor and Gamble

Illinois American Water

Ohio River Valley Water Sanitation

St. Louis Water Company

Louis Lefke

Gift Range: $2,500 - $4,999

Paul Koch

Robert Shierry

Mark Rhodes

Jon Liebman

Nishihara Environmental Sanitation

Kurita Water Industries Ltd

Gift Range: $1,000 - $2,499


Dr. Charles Haas

Dr. Neil Hawkins

Vern Snoeyink

Southwestern Stockholm Region

IWAQ International

Kazuo Taketoshi

Damon Williams

Gift Range: $250 - $999

ExxonMobil Foundation

Elchi Nakamura

Hiroshi Tsuno

James Fisher

Nilay Chaudhuri

Edward Thackston

Charles Eckerd

Roger Minear

Thomas Rehrer

BYSIS Fund Services

Hitomi Matsushimar

Central States Water Pollution

Masahisa Nakamura

Elichi Nakamura

Hitoshi Naskazawa

Tomonori Matsuo

Shinichuro Oogaki

Tadahiro Mori

Takeshi Kubo

Taigo Matsui

Yasutake Kameda

Tadao Ishikawa

Kazuhiro Tanaka

Kazuo Sugimoto

Tohru Shimizu

Kanji Nakamura

Gift Range: $10 - $249

Several hundred


Contributions to the Richard S. and Mary S. Engelbrecht Environmental Engineering Fund

Honor the memory of Professor Engelbrecht and the long term friendship and support of the Engelbrecht family to the Environmental Engineering and Science Program. Donations to the Richard S. and Mary S. Engelbrecht Fellowship can be made to the Advancement Office, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, 205 N. Mathews Ave., Urbana, IL, 61801, USA.


The Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
205 North Mathews Ave., Urbana, IL 61801-2352 | 217-333-8038 / FAX: 217-333-9464 | Contact Us | Webmaster