Student Awards


Student Awards 2009 - 2010

Manish Kumar was the 2009 recipient of the Engelbrecht Fellowship. This prestigious fellowship honors Richard Engelbrecht, a pioneer in environmental pollution control with a distinguished career in water and wastewater treatment. The annual award is given to a student near graduation who shows outstanding promise for success in environmental engineering.
Manish graduated from the National Institute of Technology, Trichy, India, with a Bachelor Tech in Chemical Engineering and with an MS in Environmental Engineering from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 2000. His research focuses on developing biologically inspired low flux water treatment membranes. He worked in industry for several years before returning to our PhD program in 2006. 
Matthew Porter received a Carollo Engineering fellowship. Matt received a B.S. in Biology from The Pennsylvania State University. He is a first year master's student. He is currently working on an NSF project using molecular biology to study just how microbial communities work and contribute to the functionality of denitrifying biofilters.
Corinne Kluge was this year’s Deuchler Fellowship recipients. Corinne graduated from Calvin College with a Bachelors in Engineering. Her research focuses on the dynamics and lifecycle of a visible-light activated photocatalyst that can remove virus phage from drinking water.
Cole Duckworth is this year’s Abbott Fellowship recipient. Colereceived a BS from the University of Missouri in Civil/Environmental Engineering. His current research focuses on the reduction of sulfate in produced water from enhanced oil recovery, coal bed methane recovery and mining operations by zero-valent iron.
Laura Asmuth, David Johnsen, Laura Fierce, Karl Dehoff, Heather Goetsch, and Luke Fitzgerald are our newest GAANN fellows. They all received fellowships from the United States Department of Education’s Graduate Assistance in Areas of National Need (GAANN) Program. 
The GAANN fellowship program in EES focuses on recruiting and supporting the top domestic graduate students with an emphasis on recruiting students from under-represented groups. The goal is to increase the quality and diversity of PhD graduates working in academia and industry. Since its start, the GAANN program has contributed to the support of twelve domestic female students.
Laura Asmuth graduated from the University of Minnesota (B.S. Chemistry), and her research is on treatment of micropollutants with a titanium dioxide photocatalyst.
David Johnson received a BS in General Engineering from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. His research focuses on capture and recovery of organic gases .
Laura Fierce recieved a BS in Mechanical Engineering from U of I. Her research focuses on using a particle-resolved model to characterize soot particles after they've undergone physical and chemical processing. 
Karl Dehoff received a Bachelor’s in Civil Engineering from The Pennsylvania State University. His research focuses on understanding the effects of mineral precipitation in porous media on geological carbon sequestration.
Heather Goetsch graduated from UIUC with a BS Civil and Environmental Engineering. Her research is looking at how the presence of antibiotics adsorbed to soil can affect the transformation frequency of Azotobacter vinilandii.
Luke Fitzgerald graduated from the University of Notre Dame with a BS in Civil Engineering. He is working with hydroacoustic equipment for the USGS, as well as research that focuses on modeling Carbon Sequestration.
Andres Jurado, Weiwei Wu, Srirupa Ganguly, Mike Fanizza, Elena Briz, and Evan Coopersmith all received University Fellowships. These fellowships are used to help recruit outstanding EES applicants, and are generally used to supplement research assistantship offers at both the MS and PhD level.
Andres Jurado received a BS in Civil Engineering from Texas A&M University.  His research focuses on uranium bioremediation.
Weiwei Wu received both BS and MS degrees in Environmental Engineering from Tsinghua University (China). He is working with Professor Wen-Tso Liu to explore the microbial ecology in anaerobic membrane and aerobic granulation processes.
Srirupa Ganguly received an MS in Aerosol Science from Virginia Commonwealth University. Her research focuses on using remote-sensing equipment to study emission factors from fugitive dust.
Mike Fanizza received a BS in Chemistry from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.  His research focuses on the biological reduction of uranium in a microfluidic pore structure.
Elena Briz received a BS in Civil Engineering –Water Resources from the University of Florida . She currently works with Professor Nguyen.
Evan Coopersmith received an MS from the University of Illinois in CEE in May of 2008. His research focuses on environmental systems modeling, adaptive observation, and remote sensing.
Ofelia Romero and Kaitlin Mallouk both received an NSF graduate fellowship.
Ofelia Romero received a BS in CEE from the University of California at Berkeley. Her research focuses on the role of natural organic matter on inactivation kinetics of rotavirus by solar irradiation.
Kaitlin Mallouk received an MS in Environmental Engineering at the University of Illinois in 2009.  Her research focuses on the capture and recovery of organic gases for reuse using adsorption and electrothermal desorption of activated carbon fiber cloth. 


The Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
205 North Mathews Ave., Urbana, IL 61801-2352 | 217-333-8038 / FAX: 217-333-9464 | Contact Us | Webmaster